Dealing with sexualized harassment

The German General Act on Equal Treatment (AGG) prohibits all forms of sexual harassment in the workplace. Employers are obligated to prevent harassment and to intervene in the event of an incident. Raising awareness, providing good information, and transparency within the company are the prerequisites for ensuring clarity and preventing assaults from occurring in the first place. However, if an incident of sexual harassment does occur, the procedure for dealing with it must be clearly defined and the employees affected must be helped immediately.

Sexual harassment in the workplace

A survey conducted by the German Federal Anti-Discrimination Agency in 2015 established that every second person surveyed in Germany had experienced sexualized harassment at work. The majority of those affected were women, but men as well as trans and intersex people were also affected. Sexualized harassment affects working people of all ages and is independent of professional position and industry. It starts where very personal boundaries are crossed for those affected. It is not a question of whether this is intentional but rather a matter of what effect it has on the person being harassed. Those affected are never themselves to blame.

According to the German General Act on Equal Treatment, sexual harassment is “unwanted conduct of a sexual nature, including unwanted sexual acts and requests to carry out sexual acts, physical conduct of a sexual nature, comments of a sexual nature, as well as the unwanted showing or public exhibition of pornographic images … with the purpose or effect of violating the dignity of the person concerned, in particular where it creates an intimidating, hostile, degrading, humiliating or offensive environment”.

Employers are therefore legally obligated to protect their employees from sexual harassment, to take appropriate measures against it, such as setting up a complaints office, and to investigate every complaint. Works and service agreements create a binding framework and ensure transparency and certainty of action for those responsible for dealing with these matters.

"The General Act on Equal Treatment (AGG) prohibits any form of sexual harassment in the workplace and obligates every employer to prevent and intervene when assaults occur. It protects all employees from sexual harassment in the workplace."
General Equal Treatment Act (AGG)

What you as a manager should know about sexual harassment in the workplace

Managers play a key role in addressing the issue of sexual harassment in the workplace, not only as role models but especially in exercising their duty of care. They should be particularly aware when dealing with the issue, be familiar with the legal and company-related framework conditions and know how to deal with members of staff should a situation arise and how to provide confident support.

1. Sexual harassment in the workplace is always prohibited
Staring obviously at a woman's breasts is clearly against the law in the workplace. The General Act on Equal Treatment (AGG) prohibits any form of sexual harassment in the workplace because there is no way to avoid the harasser under those circumstances.
2. Sexual harassment in the workplace is not restricted in terms of place or time
The AGG requires a safe working environment for all employees, with protection extending beyond the office, company premises and working hours to encompass business trips, commutes, company parties, company outings, breaks, and text messages, e-mails and phone calls.
3. The distinction from flirtation is clearly defined: sexual harassment is determined by unwantedness and violation of dignity
Flirtation occurs with mutual consent. Sexual harassment, on the other hand, is an unwanted form of behaviour. Sexual harassment is always accompanied by a violation of dignity, whereby it is not a question of whether the violation of dignity was intended but rather a matter of what the effect was on the person subject to harassment. The decisive factor for assessing whether an observed behaviour constitutes sexual harassment is therefore how the behaviour is perceived by the person affected. Since this involves overstepping individual boundaries, it is all the more important for potential victims, but also as feedback for the person from whom the harassment originates, to clearly indicate where their personal boundaries are.
4. Sexual harassment in the workplace is often underestimated and trivialized
Research shows that 60 to 70 percent of women have been sexually harassed at least once in their careers. In the past, very few of these women have spoken up, whether out of fear, shame or simply because they were not taken seriously. Sexual harassment in the workplace absorbs a lot of energy, causes significant stress, affects collaboration and reduces productivity. The effects can be serious, both for the employees affected by it and for the company.
5. In addition to the burden on those affected, sexual harassment and its consequences also pose an occupational risk
In addition to the violation of personal integrity, it can also have severe psychological and health-related consequences for those affected. They often feel insulted, humiliated, ashamed and helpless. Short-term consequences such as insomnia, disgust, anger and aggression can manifest themselves over the long term in anxiety, panic attacks, an inability to work or relationship problems. Not only do the motivation and performance of those affected suffer greatly but also teamwork and the overall working atmosphere. For the employer, not recognizing sexual harassment thus means an acute loss of productivity, and, in the long term, not only do loyalty and trust in the company decrease but a massive loss of image for the company can follow.

Recognize forms of sexualized harassment in the workplace

heads with speech bubble
Verbal harassment
This includes unwanted comments such as double entendres, suggestive jokes, remarks about clothing, appearance, or personal life, propositioning and asking for sexual favours.
Eye
Non-verbal harassment
This involves unwanted exposure to sexual or intimate behaviour such as lewd staring or wolf whistling.
Ear and hand
Physical harassment
This involves unwanted touching such as pinching, caressing, kissing or hugging. Repeated failure to maintain the usual physical distance and assaults characterized by violence also belong to this category.
Touchscreen
Digital harassment
Digital sexualized harassment in the workplace includes unwelcome advances on social networks, inappropriate images or emojis, and unwanted, harassing messages – for example, by e-mail, text message or WhatsApp.

These topics might interest you as well

Two businessmen having a discussion in an office
Management of employees under psychological stress
Providing appropriate support for employees who are under psychological strain is one of the greatest challenges in leadership. As a leader, it is important to recognize if employees are overworked. When leaders observe team members changing in the way they work or behave, they should act. 
Senior woman feeling worried
Fears & worries
Fears and worries are normal and meaningful reactions to threatening situations or changing circumstances. Even though they can burden our daily lives, fears and worries have a function. For dealing with fear, it is helpful to accept the feeling and find our way back into self-control when we have the feeling of being powerless.
Conflict Management
Although conflicts often trigger unpleasant feelings, there is great opportunity and potential in them. Often, hurt needs or feelings are the cause of behavior and conflicts. With the help of conflict management methods, these can be empathically identified and conflicts can be resolved in a targeted and sustainable manner.
Self confident appearance
Healthy self-confidence is often associated with competence, strength or leadership and is key when it comes to addressing your own needs and boundaries. Self-confidence is something you can learn. Over time, you will approach new or challenging situations more calmly and be better able to handle crises.

Have we sparked your interest? Then get in touch!

You can reach us free of charge via German landline at:

Umgang mit sexualisierter Belästigung

Das Allgemeine Gleichbehandlungsgesetz (AGG) verbietet jede Form der sexuellen Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz. Arbeitgeber sind dazu verpflichtet, einerseits vorzubeugen und andererseits im Ernstfall einzugreifen. Sensibilisierung, gute Information und Transparenz im Unternehmen sind die Voraussetzungen, damit Klarheit herrscht und es gar nicht erst zu Übergriffen kommt. Sollte dennoch ein Vorfall sexualisierter Belästigung eintreten, muss das Vorgehen klar geregelt sein und betroffenen Mitarbeitenden sofort geholfen werden.

Sexualisierte Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz

Eine Umfrage der Antidiskriminierungsstelle des Bundes aus dem Jahr 2015 bestätigt, dass in Deutschland jede zweite befragte Person sexualisierte Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz erlebt hat. Betroffen sind mehrheitlich Frauen, aber auch Männer sowie Trans* und intergeschlechtliche Personen. Sexualisierte Belästigung betrifft Berufstätige jeglichen Alters und ist unabhängig von der beruflichen Position und Branche. Sie fängt da an, wo für Betroffene ganz persönliche Grenzen überschritten werden. Es geht hierbei nicht darum, ob dies beabsichtigt ist, sondern um die Auswirkung auf die belästigte Person. Betroffene sind niemals selbst schuld.  

Eine sexualisierte Belästigung ist nach dem Allgemeinen Gleichbehandlungsgesetz „ein unerwünschtes, sexuell bestimmtes Verhalten. Unerwünschte sexuelle Handlungen und Aufforderungen, sexuell bestimmte körperliche Berührungen, Bemerkungen sowie unerwünschtes Zeigen und sichtbares Anbringen von pornographischen Darstellungen. Die Würde der betreffenden Person wird verletzt, insbesondere, wenn ein von Einschüchterungen, Anfeindungen, Erniedrigungen, Entwürdigungen oder Beleidigungen gekennzeichnetes Umfeld entsteht.“ Arbeitgeber sind demnach gesetzlich verpflichtet, ihre Beschäftigten vor sexueller Belästigung zu schützen und entsprechende Maßnahmen, zum Beispiel das Einrichten einer Beschwerdestelle, zu ergreifen und jeder Beschwerde nachzugehen. Betriebs- und Dienstvereinbarungen schaffen verbindliche Rahmenbedingungen und sorgen für Transparenz und Handlungssicherheit für Verantwortliche. 

„Das Allgemeine Gleichbehandlungsgesetz (AGG) verbietet jede Form der sexuellen Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz und verpflichtet jeden Arbeitgeber, vorzubeugen und einzugreifen, wenn es zu Übergriffen kommt. Es schützt alle Mitarbeitenden vor sexueller Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz.“
Allgemeine Gleichbehandlungsgesetz (AGG)

Was Sie als Führungskraft über sexuelle Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz wissen sollten

Führungskräften kommt bei dem Thema sexualisierte Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz eine zentrale Rolle zu. Nicht nur als Vorbildfunktion, sondern insbesondere in der Ausübung ihrer Fürsorgepflicht. Sie sollten besonders sensibilisiert werden im Umgang mit dem Thema, sich mit den rechtlichen und unternehmensbezogenen Rahmenbedingungen auskennen und wissen, wie sie mit ihren Mitarbeitenden im Ernstfall umgehen und wie sie vertrauensvoll unterstützen können.  

1. Sexualisierte Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz ist immer verboten
Einer Frau offensichtlich auf die Brüste zu starren, gilt am Arbeitsplatz als eindeutig gesetzeswidrig. Das Allgemeine Gleichbehandlungsgesetz (AGG) verbietet jede Form der sexuellen Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz, denn dort kann man der belästigenden Person nicht aus dem Weg gehen.
2. Sexualisierte Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz ist weder örtlich noch zeitlich eingeschränkt
Das AGG fordert für alle Beschäftigten ein sicheres Arbeitsumfeld, wobei sich der Schutz über das Büro, Unternehmensgebäude und die Arbeitszeit hinaus auch auf Dienstreisen, Arbeitswege, Firmenfeiern, Betriebsausflüge, Pausen sowie SMS, E-Mails und Anrufe bezieht.
3. Die Abgrenzung zu einem Flirt ist klar definiert: Sexualisierte Belästigung ist durch Unerwünschtheit und Würdeverletzung bestimmt
Flirts entstehen in beiderseitigem Einverständnis. Bei sexueller Belästigung handelt es sich hingegen um eine unerwünschte Verhaltensweise. Eine sexuelle Belästigung geht immer mit einer Würdeverletzung einher, wobei es nicht darum geht, ob die Würdeverletzung beabsichtigt wurde, sondern um die Auswirkung auf die belästigte Person. Ausschlaggebend für die Beurteilung, ob es sich bei einem beobachteten Verhalten um eine sexuelle Belästigung handelt, ist also, wie das Verhalten bei der betreffenden Person ankommt. Da es dabei um das Überschreiten individueller Grenzempfindungen geht, ist es für potenzielle Opfer, aber ebenso auch als Feedback für denjenigen, von dem die Belästigung ausgeht, umso wichtiger, die persönlichen Grenzen klar aufzuzeigen.
4. Sexuelle Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz wird oft unterschätzt und verharmlost
Untersuchungen zeigen, dass 60 bis 70 Prozent der Frauen mindestens einmal in ihrer Karriere sexuell belästigt wurden. In der Vergangenheit haben nur sehr wenige dieser Frauen ihre Stimme erhoben sei es aus Angst, Scham oder schlichtweg, weil sie nicht ernst genommen wurden. Sexuelle Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz absorbiert viel Energie, verursacht erheblichen Stress, beeinträchtigt die Zusammenarbeit und vermindert die Produktivität. Die Auswirkungen können gravierend sein, sowohl für die davon betroffenen Mitarbeitenden als auch für das Unternehmen.
5. Neben der Belastung für die Betroffenen stellt sexuelle Belästigung und ihre Konsequenzen auch ein arbeitstechnisches Risiko dar
Neben der Verletzung der persönlichen Integrität kann es auch schwere psychische und gesundheitliche Folgen für Betroffene haben. Sie fühlen sich oft beleidigt, erniedrigt, beschämt und hilflos. Kurzfristige Folgen wie Schlaflosigkeit, Ekel, Ärger und Aggression können sich langfristig zu Angstzuständen, Panikattacken, Arbeitsunfähigkeit oder Beziehungsproblemen manifestieren. Nicht nur Motivation und Leistungsvermögen der Betroffenen leiden in hohem Maße, sondern auch die Zusammenarbeit im Team und das gesamte Betriebsklima. Für den Arbeitgeber bedeutet mangelndes Erkennen von sexueller Belästigung somit akut einen Verlust an Produktivität und langfristig nehmen nicht nur die Bindung und das Vertrauen in das Unternehmen ab, es kann ein massiver Imageverlust für das Unternehmen folgen.

Formen sexualisierter Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz erkennen

Köpfe mit Sprechblase
Verbale Belästigung
Dies beinhaltet aufdringliche Ausdrücke, die durch Sprache kommuniziert werden wie beispielweise zweideutige Kommentare, anzügliche Witze, Bemerkungen über Kleidung, Aussehen oder Privatleben sowie Aufforderungen zu sexuellen oder auch intimen Handlungen.
Auge
Nonverbale Belästigung
Hier zählt die ungewollte Konfrontation mit sexuellen oder intimen Inhalten wie anzügliche Blicke oder Hinterherpfeifen.
Ohr und Hand
Körperliche Belästigung
Dies sind alle unerwünschten Berührungen wie Kneifen, Streicheln, Küssen oder Umarmen. Auch wiederholte Nichtwahrung der gewöhnlichen körperlichen Distanz und von Gewalt geprägte Übergriffe gehören zu dieser Kategorie.
Touchscreen
Digitale Belästigung
Zu digitaler sexualisierter Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz zählen aufdringliche Annäherungsversuche in sozialen Netzwerken, unangemessenes Bildmaterial oder Emojis sowie unerwünschte, belästigende Nachrichten zum Beispiel per Mail, SMS oder WhatsApp.

Diese Themen könnten Sie auch interessieren

Zwei Kollegen sitzen am Tisch und diskutieren
Führung von psychisch belasteten Mitarbeitenden
Die angemessene Unterstützung psychisch belasteter Mitarbeitender ist eine der größten Herausforderungen in der Führung. Als Führungskraft ist es wichtig, zu erkennen, ob Mitarbeitende überlastet sind. Wenn Führungskräfte beobachten, wie Teammitglieder sich in ihrer Arbeitsweise oder ihrem Verhalten verändern, sollten sie handeln. 
Ältere, besorgte Frau
Ängste & Sorgen
Ängste und Sorgen sind normale und sinnvolle Reaktionen auf bedrohliche Situationen oder sich verändernde Umstände. Auch wenn sie unseren Alltag belasten können, haben Ängste und Sorgen eine Funktion. Für den Umgang mit der Angst ist es hilfreich, das Gefühl anzunehmen und in die Selbststeuerung zurück zu finden, wenn wir das Gefühl haben, ohnmächtig zu sein.
Konfliktmanagement
Obwohl Konflikte oft unangenehme Gefühle auslösen, liegt in ihnen eine große Chance und Potential. Oft stecken hinter Verhaltensweisen und Konflikten verletzte Bedürfnisse oder Gefühle. Mithilfe von Methoden des Konfliktmanagements können diese empathisch benannt und Konflikte zielführend und nachhaltig gelöst werden.
Selbstbewusstes Auftreten
Gesundes Selbstbewusstsein wird oft mit Kompetenz, Stärke oder Führungsqualität assoziiert und ist der Schlüssel, wenn es um die Ansprache eigener Bedürfnisse und Grenzen geht. Selbstbewusstes Auftreten können Sie lernen. Mit der Zeit gehen Sie gelassener an neue oder herausfordernde Situationen heran und können mit Krisen besser umgehen.

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt? Dann kontaktieren Sie uns!

Sie erreichen uns unter: