Organizational resilience

Companies are said to have a high level of organizational resilience if they are able to adapt flexibly to changes and new demands without incurring any damage in the process and possibly even continuing to develop.

What is organizational resilience?

The term resilience is currently used primarily in connection with the mental health of individuals. Resilience is also known as the immune system of the soul because it enables us to deal with adversity and challenges without suffering harm. Organizations can also be resilient. For example, a resilient organization manages to adapt quickly to new conditions. When faced with challenges, employees work together in a solution-oriented manner. The company manages to evolve with the changes, involving its employees in the process, identifying dangers and risks at an early stage and succeeding in spite of any difficulties.

Together through the crisis

In recent years, many companies have adapted successfully to major developments – be it digitization, increased working from home, the Corona pandemic or even the generational change and new demands on employers in general. What distinguishes companies that have dealt with these crises and changes particularly well?

1. Flexibility
Companies that approach challenges in a solution-oriented manner and react quickly to changing circumstances manage to get through both minor and major crises well. They do not remain frozen in inaction but adapt to the new circumstances.
2. Attention
To be resilient, it is important to recognize upcoming challenges in good time and to be able to act accordingly. Companies that recognize changes and trends early on and embrace them are often one step ahead of others.
3. Good failure culture
If you dare to do something, you will also make mistakes. Companies that are open to innovative approaches and see mistakes as an opportunity to learn have fewer inhibitions when faced with new challenges. They develop a shared self-efficacy that motivates and produces solutions.
4. Healthy leadership
Change is often accompanied by uncertainty and fear. In these situations, it is particularly important that managers take care of themselves and their employees. With open communication, crises can be overcome together.

Why does a company need resilience?

Gear wheels
Agile working
Companies that work in an agile way benefit from their employees being more resistant to disruption and the company being able to handle rapid development and change.
Person with thundercloud over head
Coping well with crises
Some changes hit a company hard. Resilient companies are able to overcome severe setbacks and recover from the experience.
Boat
Retaining employees
Resilient companies are considered reliable because employees have confidence in their employer.

These topics might interest you as well

Businesswoman presenting at a meeting
Healthy leadership
Leading yourself and others in a healthy way is one of the key skills in today's professional life. Healthy leadership is good for employees, but also for the manager himself. With a view to the physical and mental health of individuals, a health-oriented leadership style ensures good, appreciative and efficient cooperation.
Young team stands together and discusses
Leading in transformation processes
When changes are imminent, managers often encounter challenges in dealing with their employees. With transparent communication, orientation and openness to emotions and possible resistance, successful leadership and support in times of change is possible.
Senior woman feeling worried
Fears & worries
Fears and worries are normal and meaningful reactions to threatening situations or changing circumstances. Even though they can burden our daily lives, fears and worries have a function. For dealing with fear, it is helpful to accept the feeling and find our way back into self-control when we have the feeling of being powerless.
Businesswoman takes a deep breath outdoors
Resilience
Our mental resilience helps us stay mentally healthy, survive stressful situations and recover from stressful times. Resilience is therefore also referred to as the "immune system of the soul". People can learn to deal with crises and their own reaction to these stresses.

Have we sparked your interest? Then get in touch!

You can reach us free of charge via German landline at:

Organisationale Resilienz

Unternehmen besitzen eine hohe organisationale Resilienz, wenn sie in der Lage sind, sich an Veränderungen und neue Anforderungen flexibel anzupassen und dabei keinen Schaden nehmen, sondern sich möglicherweise sogar weiterentwickeln.

Was ist organisationale Resilienz?

Der Begriff Resilienz wird aktuell vor allem im Zusammenhang mit der psychischen Gesundheit einzelner Personen verwendet. Man bezeichnet Resilienz auch als das Immunsystem der Seele, weil sie uns befähigt, mit Widrigkeiten und Herausforderungen umzugehen, ohne Schaden zu nehmen. Auch Organisationen können sich als resilient erweisen. Eine resiliente Organisation schafft es beispielsweise, sich schnell an neue Rahmenbedingungen anzupassen. Bei Herausforderungen handeln die Mitarbeitenden kooperativ und lösungsorientiert. Das Unternehmen schafft es, sich mit den Veränderungen zu entwickeln, die Mitarbeitenden im Prozess mitzunehmen, Gefahren und Risiken frühzeitig zu identifizieren und nicht an den Schwierigkeiten zu scheitern. 

Gemeinsam durch die Krise

In den letzten Jahren haben viele Unternehmen große Entwicklungen gemeistert – sei es die Digitalisierung, die zunehmende Arbeit im Homeoffice, die Corona-Pandemie oder auch generell der Generationswechsel und neue Anforderungen an Arbeitgeber. Was zeichnet Unternehmen aus, die diese Krisen und Veränderungen besonders gut gemeistert haben? 

1. Flexibilität
Unternehmen, die an Herausforderungen lösungsorientiert herangehen und schnell auf veränderte Rahmenbedingungen reagieren, kommen gut durch kleine und große Krisen. Sie verharren nicht in der Problemtrance, sondern passen sich an die neuen Umstände an.
2. Aufmerksamkeit
Um resilient zu sein, ist es wichtig, bevorstehende Herausforderungen rechtzeitig zu erkennen und dementsprechend handeln zu können. Unternehmen, die Veränderungen und Trends frühzeitig erkennen und sich darauf einlassen, sind anderen oft einen Schritt voraus.
3. Gute Fehlerkultur
Wer etwas wagt, wird auch Fehler machen. Unternehmen, die offen für innovative Ansätze sind und Fehler als Chance zum Lernen betrachten, haben bei neuen Herausforderungen weniger Hemmung. Sie entwickeln eine gemeinsame Selbstwirksamkeit, die motiviert und Lösungen hervorbringt.
4. Gesunde Führung
Mit Veränderungen kommen oft auch Unsicherheit und Ängste. In diesen Situationen ist es besonders wichtig, dass Führungskräfte auf sich und ihre Mitarbeitenden achtgeben. Mit einer offenen Kommunikation lassen sich Krisen gemeinsam bewältigen.

Wofür braucht ein Unternehmen Resilienz?

Zahnräder
Agil arbeiten
Unternehmen, die agil arbeiten, profitieren davon, dass die Mitarbeitenden störungsresistenter sind und das Unternehmen mit Geschwindigkeit und Veränderungen umgehen kann.
Person mit Gewitterwolke über Kopf
Krisen meistern
Manche Veränderungen treffen ein Unternehmen hart. Resiliente Unternehmen meistern auch schwere Rückschläge und erholen sich von den Erfahrungen.
Boot
Mitarbeiter halten
Resiliente Unternehmen gelten als zuverlässig, denn die Mitarbeitenden haben Vertrauen in die Kompetenzen ihres Arbeitgebers.

Diese Themen könnten Sie auch interessieren

Geschäftsfrau präsentiert in einem Meeting
Gesunde Führung
Sich selbst und andere gesund zu führen, gehört zu den Schlüsselqualifikationen im heutigen Berufsalltag. Eine gesunde Führung ist gut für die Mitarbeitenden, aber auch für die Führungskraft selbst. Mit dem Blick auf die körperliche und psychische Gesundheit Einzelner sorgt ein gesundheitsorientierter Führungsstil für ein gutes, wertschätzendes und leistungsfähiges Miteinander.
Junges Team steht zusammen und diskutiert
Führen in Transformationsprozessen
Bei anstehenden Veränderungen stoßen Führungskräfte oft auf Herausforderungen im Umgang mit ihren Mitarbeitenden. Mit transparenter Kommunikation, Orientierung und Offenheit gegenüber Emotionen und möglichen Widerständen ist eine erfolgreiche Führung und Begleitung in Zeiten von Veränderungen möglich.
Ältere, besorgte Frau
Ängste & Sorgen
Ängste und Sorgen sind normale und sinnvolle Reaktionen auf bedrohliche Situationen oder sich verändernde Umstände. Auch wenn sie unseren Alltag belasten können, haben Ängste und Sorgen eine Funktion. Für den Umgang mit der Angst ist es hilfreich, das Gefühl anzunehmen und in die Selbststeuerung zurück zu finden, wenn wir das Gefühl haben, ohnmächtig zu sein.
Geschäftsfrau atmet draußen tief durch
Resilienz
Durch unsere psychische Widerstandsfähigkeit, auch Resilienz genannt, bleiben wir mental gesund, überstehen belastende Situationen und erholen uns auch von stressigen Zeiten. Man bezeichnet Resilienz daher auch als das „Immunsystem der Seele“. Menschen können lernen, mit Krisen und der eigenen Reaktion auf diese Belastungen umzugehen.

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt? Dann kontaktieren Sie uns!

Sie erreichen uns unter: