Partnership and marriage

A good partnership or marriage comes in many different shapes and varieties. Most people who are in a relationship are trying to share their lives with someone else and shape their lives together.

A lasting partnership needs care and attention

Man giving his girlfriend a piggyback ride

Many people would like a lasting and fulfilling partnership. Relationships are an important part of a happy life for many of us. However, relationships are also an adventure and are constantly evolving. Problems, quarrels and minor crises are a part of most partnerships and marriages. A well-functioning relationship requires conscious attention and commitment because open communication, trust and respect for the needs of the other person usually develop over time.

In a partnership, you sometimes have to argue because that's how you learn more about each other
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

The phases of a partnership according to Kovacs

Couples go through various phases on the way to a lasting partnership. The relationship is subject to constant change, and external circumstances can also require that the relationship adapt to new life situations. According to the American couples therapist Liberty Kovacs, a partnership usually goes through six different phases. How long each phase lasts differs from couple to couple and, of course, not every couple goes through each of them. However, the model normalizes conflict and some ups and downs, which provides a sense of relief for many couples.

1. Infatuation
Both partners consider themselves ideal for each other, see each other through rose-tinted spectacles and are in the grip of raging hormones. They discover common ground and are ready to adjust to the needs of the other and fulfil their every wish. Feelings of infatuation and a longing for closeness are dominant. "The main thing is to be with you" is the basic attitude.
2. Expectations and disillusionment
The initial phase of being on a high subsides, and differences and weaknesses become apparent. Each partner begins to give more attention to their own concerns and interests again. Everyday duties come to the fore. The first feelings of disappointment and disillusionment arise, and perhaps criticism of the other person is already being voiced. For many couples, separation occurs as early as this phase.
3. Power struggles and setting boundaries
Both partners recognize each other’s imperfections. They try to change each other. This can lead to mistrust, anger or blame.
4. Conflicts
In this phase, one or both partners feel constrained. They feel an urge to abandon the relationship or ask themselves whether and how any conflicts can be resolved.
5. Reconciliation  
Both partners gradually find their way back to each other. Each recognizes that the other is not obliged to live up to their own expectations of them. They are willing to compromise and view the relationship as a matter of give and take.
6. Acceptance 
Both partners have developed a balance between closeness and independence. They enjoy being together and accept each other as they are.

Three inspirations for your partnership

Appreciate their positive sides
Pay more attention to the positive sides of your partner again. Over time, we usually begin to take the other person for granted. A few words of praise or a compliment almost always causes a positive reaction in the other person.
two bodies symbolizing cohesion
Find a common hobby
Find a common hobby that you both enjoy. This way you have something to do together that is not a duty or obligation. Laughing and having fun together strengthens your partnership.
clock
Take time for two
At the beginning of a relationship, couples often spend a lot of time together. Over the years and with an increase in other commitments, there may be less and less time for this. Make a conscious effort to make dates and keep them. Do something together as a couple without involving other people.

These topics might also interest you

Man touches his pregnant girlfriend
Pregnancy, birth and parenthood
For expectant parents, pregnancy and the beginning of parenthood is a special experience that can be associated with many questions. The current life situation is being reshaped. This is accompanied by many changes and emotions. Legal issues, initial tasks and deadlines should also be considered during this time.
Personality
The human personality is complex and individual - and precisely for that reason a fascinating topic. Personality traits are defined as certain characteristics of a person that significantly influence his or her actions, thoughts and feelings. Over the years, many different models have been established for classifying personality. 
Sad couple after an argument
Separation & Divorce
As individual as relationships are, separations and divorces also proceed very differently - from an amicable agreement to a painful loss crisis. A separation or divorce can have an impact on all family members, and children in particular need a great deal of attention during this time.
Woman comfortingly holding the hand of another person
Grief and loss
Grief is a natural reaction and an important step in saying goodbye. The death of a close person is certainly one of the most difficult events to cope with. However, feelings of grief can also occur with other losses such as the failure of a relationship, a dismissal or when accompanying a dementia illness.

Have we sparked your interest? Then get in touch!

You can reach us free of charge via German landline at:

Partnerschaft und Ehe

Eine gute Partnerschaft oder Ehe kommt in vielen unterschiedlichen Formen und Varianten vor. Die meisten Menschen streben in einer Beziehung danach, ihr Leben mit jemandem zu teilen und gemeinsam ihr Leben zu gestalten. 

Für eine dauerhafte Partnerschaft braucht es Pflege und Aufmerksamkeit

Mann trägt seine Partnerin Huckepack

Viele Personen wünschen sich eine dauerhafte und erfüllte Partnerschaft. Beziehungen sind für die meisten Menschen ein wichtiger Bestandteil eines zufriedenen Lebens. Beziehungen sind aber auch ein Abenteuer und stetig in Entwicklung. Probleme, Streit und kleine Krisen gehören zu den meisten Partnerschaften und Ehen dazu. Eine gut funktionierende Beziehung erfordert bewusste Aufmerksamkeit und Engagement, denn eine offene Kommunikation, Vertrauen und das Respektieren der Bedürfnisse der anderen Person entwickelt sich in der Regel über die Zeit. 

In einer Partnerschaft muss man sich manchmal streiten, denn dadurch erfährt man mehr voneinander.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Die Phasen einer Partnerschaft

Auf dem Weg zu einer dauerhaften Partnerschaft durchlaufen die Partner*innen verschiedene Phasen. Die Beziehung unterliegt stetigen Veränderungen und auch äußere Umstände führen dazu, dass man die Partnerschaft z.B. einer neuen Lebenssituation anpassen muss. Eine Partnerschaft durchläuft in der Regel in sechs verschiedenen Phasen (nach Liberty Kovacs). Wie lange die Phasen andauern, unterscheidet sich je nach Paar und natürlich durchläuft auch nicht jedes Paar jede dieser Phasen.

1. Schwärmerei
Beide Partner*innen betrachten sich als ideal, tragen die rosarote Brille und die Hormone spielen verrückt. Man entdeckt Gemeinsamkeiten und ist bereit, sich auf den anderen einzustellen und ihm/ihr alle Wünsche zu erfüllen. Verliebtheitsgefühle und Sehnsucht nach Nähe herrschen vor. „Hauptsache mit dir zusammen sein“, ist die Grundhaltung.
2. Erwartungen und Ernüchterung
Die erste Hochphase schwächt ab und Unterschiede und Schwächen treten zutage. Die Partner*innen beginnen, sich wieder mehr um ihre eigenen Interessen zu kümmern. Die Alltagspflichten rücken in den Vordergrund. Erste Gefühle der Enttäuschung und Ernüchterung treten auf, vielleicht wird auch bereits Kritik am anderen geäußert. Bei vielen Paaren kommt es in dieser Phase bereits zur Trennung.
3. Machtkampf und Abgrenzung
Man erkennt, dass der Partner oder die Partnerin Ecken und Kanten hat. Jede/r versucht, den/die andere/n zu verändern. Das kann zu Misstrauen, Wut oder Schuldzuweisungen führen.
4. Konflikte
In dieser Phase fühlen sich ein oder beide Partner*innen eingeengt. Man verspürt den Drang, die Partnerschaft aufzugeben oder stellt sich die Frage, ob und wie die gemeinsamen Konflikte gelöst werden können.
5. Versöhnung  
Die Partner finden allmählich wieder zueinander. Sie erkennen, dass der/die jeweilige Partner*in nicht den eigenen Erwartungen gerecht werden muss. Sie sind zu Kompromissen bereit und betrachten die Beziehung als ein Geben und Nehmen.
6. Akzeptanz 
Beide Partner*innen haben ein Gleichgewicht zwischen Nähe und Selbständigkeit entwickelt. Sie genießen ihr Zusammensein und nehmen den anderen so an, wie er/sie ist.

Drei Inspirationen für Ihre Partnerschaft

Positive Seiten schätzen
Lenken Sie Ihren Blick wieder mehr auf die positiven Seiten des Partners oder der Partnerin. Mit der Zeit betrachten wir gewöhnlich das, was der oder die Andere für uns tut, als normal. Ein Lob oder ein Kompliment bewirkt fast immer ein positives Gefühl beim anderen.
zwei Körper, die Zusammenhalt symbolisieren
Gemeinsames Hobby finden
Finden Sie ein gemeinsames Hobby, das Ihnen beiden Spaß macht. Auf diese Weise haben Sie eine gemeinsame Aufgabe, die keine Verpflichtung darstellt und doch mit dem Partner oder der Partnerin verknüpft ist. Gemeinsam lachen und Spaß haben stärkt Ihre Partnerschaft.
Uhr
Zeit zu zweit nehmen
Zu Beginn der Beziehung verbringen Paare oft sehr viel Zeit miteinander. Über die Jahre und mit Zunahme anderer Verpflichtungen kann es sein, dass immer weniger Zeit zu zweit bleibt. Verabreden Sie sich bewusst und halten Sie diese Verabredungen ein. Machen Sie etwas zusammen als Paar, ohne andere Personen.

Diese Themen könnten Sie auch interessieren

Mann fühlt den Bauch seiner schwangeren Partnerin
Schwangerschaft, Geburt und Elternschaft
Für werdende Eltern ist die Schwangerschaft und der Beginn der Elternschaft eine besondere Erfahrung, die mit vielen Fragen verbunden sein kann. Die aktuelle Lebenssituation wird neu formiert. Dies geht mit vielen Veränderungen und Emotionen einher. Auch rechtliche Fragen, erste Aufgaben und Fristen sollten in dieser Zeit bedacht werden.
Persönlichkeit
Die menschliche Persönlichkeit ist vielschichtig und individuell – und genau deswegen ein faszinierendes Thema. Als Persönlichkeitsmerkmale werden bestimmte Eigenschaften einer Person bezeichnet, die ihr Handeln, Denken und Fühlen maßgeblich beeinflussen. Über die Jahre haben sich viele verschiedene Modelle zur Einordnung der Persönlichkeit etabliert. 
Trauriges Paar nach einem Streit
Trennung & Scheidung
So individuell wie Beziehungen sind, verlaufen auch Trennungen und Scheidungen sehr verschieden – von einer einvernehmlichen Einigung bis hin zu einer schmerzhaften Verlustkrise. Eine Trennung oder Scheidung kann Auswirkungen auf alle Familienmitglieder haben und besonders Kinder brauchen in dieser Zeit hohe Aufmerksamkeit.
Frau hält tröstend die Hand einer anderen Person
Trauer und Verlust
Trauer ist eine natürliche Reaktion und ein wichtiger Schritt beim Abschiednehmen. Der Tod einer nahestehenden Person ist sicherlich eines der schwersten Ereignisse, die es zu bewältigen gilt. Trauergefühle können aber auch bei anderen Verlusten wie dem Scheitern einer Beziehung, einer Kündigung oder bei der Begleitung einer Demenzerkrankung auftreten.

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt? Dann kontaktieren Sie uns!

Sie erreichen uns unter: