Stress management

In order to cope well with stress in everyday life, the focus should be on acting responsibly and in a health-conscious manner.

What is stress?

Woman leans against window and closes eyes

Stress is a physical and psychological process. It is triggered when we are confronted with challenging situations and our attempts to cope with them, using the resources at our disposal, are not successful. This upsets the balance of our physical and psychological functioning – and then we speak of stress. From an evolutionary perspective, stress is a biologically meaningful and healthy mechanism that ensures human survival. What is important is that we feel able to actively influence and regulate stress and how it affects us.  

How can I improve my stress management?

Not every stressful experience is automatically hazardous to health. Positively experienced stress is also called eustress – it motivates us and drives us to achieve our goals. Therefore, it is important that we notice when our stress perception turns negative and becomes a burden. Stress can be regarded as comprising three components. If we identify these for ourselves, we can use that as the starting point for our stress management:

1. Stressors - "I get stressed when ..."
This component relates to situations and demands that regularly trigger a stressful experience for you personally. These can be, for example, social conflicts, performance demands or having to deal with too many tasks at once.
2. Personal stress amplifiers - "I put myself under pressure by ..."
This component is about your personal assessment of the situation and your coping skills. This could take the form of stress-reinforcing thoughts such as "I have to please everyone", for example.
3. Stress reaction - "When I am stressed, I ..."
This component relates to your specific behaviour and how increased stress affects you. This could be reduced performance or more mistakes at work, physical consequences such as headaches and sleep problems, or emotions such as anxiety and anger.
Woman looking relaxed at the sea

If you can identify these three levels for yourself, you have a helpful starting point for active stress management. There are three pillars that provide orientation and relate to the previously described components of how we experience stress.

Three pillars of stress management

heads with speech bubble
Reduce
stressors
Hand over tasks to others, ensure clarity or address conflicts. By doing this, you will reduce your stress triggers.
star
Change your own evaluation
Reflect on your own thoughts in stressful situations and try to actively reinterpret them.
Person stands on one leg
Balance
out stress
Guard against excessive stress by creating a balance, e.g. through relaxation, breaks, sport and healthy nutrition.

These topics might interest you as well

Businesswoman takes a deep breath outdoors
Resilience
Our mental resistance, also known as resilience, helps us stay mentally healthy, survive stressful situations and recover from stressful times. Resilience is therefore also referred to as the "immune system of the soul". People can learn to deal with crises and their own reaction to these stresses.
Woman meditates sitting
Mindfulness
Being mindful means encountering the respective moment with a non-judgmental and accepting attitude and consciously turning toward what we are currently thinking, feeling and doing. A mindful attitude supports the development of inner clarity and helps to deal with stress, fears or challenging life situations.
Woman comfortingly holding the hand of another person
Grief and loss
Grief is a natural reaction and an important step in saying goodbye. The death of a close person is certainly one of the most difficult events to cope with. However, feelings of grief can also occur with other losses such as the failure of a relationship, a dismissal or when accompanying a dementia illness.
Mental stress at the workplace
Mental stress at workplaces is on the rise. Possible causes are, for example, work intensification, social developments, fear of losing one's job, or the current management and corporate culture. If the stress continues over a longer period of time, mental illnesses such as burnout syndrome can develop. 

Have we sparked your interest? Then get in touch!

You can reach us free of charge via German landline at:

Stressmanagement

Um mit Stress im Alltag gut umgehen zu können, steht das eigenverantwortliche und gesundheitsbewusste Handeln im Vordergrund.

Was ist eigentlich Stress?

Frau lehnt an Fenster und schließt die Augen

Stress ist ein körperlicher und psychischer Prozess. Er wird angestoßen, wenn wir mit herausfordernden Situationen konfrontiert sind und unsere Versuche, diese mit den uns zur Verfügung stehenden Mitteln zu bewältigen, nicht erfolgreich sind. Unsere Balance der körperlichen und psychischen Funktion wird dadurch gestört – und dann sprechen wir von Stress. Aus evolutionärer Sicht ist Stress ein biologisch sinnvoller und gesunder Mechanismus, der Menschen das Überleben sichert. Wichtig ist, dass wir uns dazu in der Lage fühlen, unser Stresserleben aktiv zu beeinflussen und zu regulieren. 

Wie kann ich mein Stressmanagement verbessern?

Nicht jedes Stresserleben ist automatisch gesundheitsgefährdend. Positiv erlebter Stress wird auch als Eustress bezeichnet – er motiviert uns und treibt uns an, um unsere Ziele zu erreichen. Daher ist es wichtig, dass wir bemerken, wann unser Stressempfinden ins Negative umschlägt und zur Belastung wird. Stress lässt sich in drei Komponenten unterteilen. Wenn wir diese für uns identifizieren, können wir dort ansetzen, um unser Stressmanagement zu verbessern 

1. Stressoren – „Ich gerate in Stress, wenn …“
Diese Komponente bezieht sich auf Situationen und Anforderungen, die bei Ihnen persönlich regelmäßig ein Stresserleben auslösen. Das können z.B. soziale Konflikte, Leistungsanforderungen oder zu viele Aufgaben auf einmal sein.
2. Persönliche Stressverstärker – „Ich setze mich selbst unter Druck, indem …“
Bei dieser Komponente geht es um Ihre persönliche Bewertung der Situation und Ihrer Bewältigungsmöglichkeiten. Dies könnten z.B. stressverstärkende Gedanken sein, wie „Ich muss es allen recht machen“.
3. Stressreaktion – „Wenn ich im Stress bin, dann …“
Diese Komponente bezieht sich auf Ihr konkretes Verhalten und die Auswirkungen, die sich durch ein erhöhtes Stresserleben bei Ihnen zeigen. Das könnten z.B. Leistungsminderung oder mehr Fehler bei der Arbeit, physische Folgen wie Kopfschmerzen und Schlafprobleme oder auch Emotionen wie Ängste und Wut sein.
Frau schaut entspannt auf das Meer

Wenn Sie diese drei Ebenen für sich identifizieren können, ist dies ein hilfreicher Ansatzpunkt, um aktives Stressmanagement zu betreiben. Dabei gibt es drei Säulen, die Orientierung geben und sich auf die zuvor beschriebenen Komponenten des Stresserlebens beziehen. 

Drei Säulen der Stressbewältigung

Köpfe mit Sprechblase
Stressoren reduzieren
Geben Sie Aufgaben ab, sorgen Sie für Klarheit oder sprechen Sie Konflikte an. Dadurch reduzieren Sie die Auslöser für Ihr Stresserleben.
Stern
Verändern der eigenen Bewertung
Reflektieren Sie Ihre eigenen Gedanken in belastenden Situationen und versuchen Sie, diese aktiv umzudeuten. 
Person steht auf einem Bein
Stressreaktion ausgleichen
Beugen Sie starken Stressreaktionen vor oder schaffen Sie eine Balance, z.B. durch Entspannung, Pausen, Sport und gesunde Ernährung.

Diese Themen könnten Sie auch interessieren

Geschäftsfrau atmet draußen tief durch
Resilienz
Durch unsere psychische Widerstandsfähigkeit, auch Resilienz genannt, bleiben wir mental gesund, überstehen belastende Situationen und erholen uns auch von stressigen Zeiten. Man bezeichnet Resilienz daher auch als das „Immunsystem der Seele“. Menschen können lernen, mit Krisen und der eigenen Reaktion auf diese Belastungen umzugehen.
Frau meditiert im Sitzen
Achtsamkeit
Achtsam sein bedeutet, dem jeweiligen Augenblick mit einer nicht wertenden und annehmenden Haltung zu begegnen und sich dem, was wir gerade denken, fühlen und tun bewusst zuzuwenden. Eine achtsame Haltung unterstützt die Entwicklung innerer Klarheit und hilft, mit Stress, Ängsten oder herausfordernden Lebenssituationen umgehen zu können.
Frau hält tröstend die Hand einer anderen Person
Trauer und Verlust
Trauer ist eine natürliche Reaktion und ein wichtiger Schritt beim Abschiednehmen. Der Tod einer nahestehenden Person ist sicherlich eines der schwersten Ereignisse, die es zu bewältigen gilt. Trauergefühle können aber auch bei anderen Verlusten wie dem Scheitern einer Beziehung, einer Kündigung oder bei der Begleitung einer Demenzerkrankung auftreten.
Psychische Belastung am Arbeitsplatz
Die psychische Belastung an Arbeitsplätzen nimmt zu. Mögliche Ursachen sind z.B. Arbeitsverdichtung, gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen, Angst vor Jobverlust oder die aktuelle Führungs- und Unternehmenskultur. Wenn die Belastung über einen längeren Zeitraum anhält, können sich daraus psychische Erkrankungen wie z.B. das Burnout-Syndrom entwickeln. 

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt? Dann kontaktieren Sie uns!

Sie erreichen uns unter: